Compare plugins

ImgCrisp and the other image plugins, side by side.

Every fact about another plugin comes from that plugin’s own pricing page or docs, linked under its table, and was checked on 26 October 2026. “Not stated” means we couldn’t find it there, not that the plugin lacks it. If something here is wrong or out of date, tell us and we’ll fix it.

ImgCrisp vs ShortPixel

QuestionImgCrispShortPixel
Where compression runsImgCrisp’s serviceShortPixel’s cloud
What you pay forCredits: 30 per image, all sizes and formats includedA flat monthly plan, or credit packs where each size and each WebP or AVIF copy is a credit
WebP and AVIFBoth, for everyoneBoth, on every plan
An image that gets no smallerNot chargedNot charged when under 5% smaller
Originals backed upYes, restore any imageYes, on your server
A record of each image, failures includedYes: a ledger you can filter and exportA downloadable report; failures not stated
AI upscaleYes, 210 credits, price shown firstYes, on its AI plan and credit packs

ShortPixel may suit you better if: You have a very large library and want one flat monthly price, whatever you upload.

Source: ShortPixel’s own site and its WordPress.org listing, checked 26 October 2026.

ImgCrisp vs Smush

QuestionImgCrispSmush
Where compression runsImgCrisp’s serviceSmush’s servers
What you pay forCredits: 30 per image, all sizes and formats includedA yearly licence by number of sites
WebP and AVIFBoth, for everyonePro only
An image that gets no smallerNot chargedNot stated
Originals backed upYes, restore any imageYes, when the backup option is on
A record of each image, failures includedYes: a ledger you can filter and exportAn activity log
AI upscaleYes, 210 credits, price shown firstNot stated

Smush may suit you better if: You already pay for WPMU DEV and want image tools in the same dashboard.

Source: Smush’s own site and its WordPress.org listing, checked 26 October 2026.

ImgCrisp vs Imagify

QuestionImgCrispImagify
Where compression runsImgCrisp’s serviceImagify’s servers
What you pay forCredits: 30 per image, all sizes and formats includedMegabytes of original files sent each month; each size counts
WebP and AVIFBoth, for everyoneBoth, free plan included
An image that gets no smallerNot chargedNot stated
Originals backed upYes, restore any imageYes, on by default
A record of each image, failures includedYes: a ledger you can filter and exportNot stated
AI upscaleYes, 210 credits, price shown firstNot stated

Imagify may suit you better if: Your images are small and few, and the free monthly allowance covers them.

Source: Imagify’s own site and its WordPress.org listing, checked 26 October 2026.

ImgCrisp vs EWWW

QuestionImgCrispEWWW
Where compression runsImgCrisp’s serviceYour server (free) or EWWW’s servers (paid)
What you pay forCredits: 30 per image, all sizes and formats includedA yearly plan, or credits per image sent
WebP and AVIFBoth, for everyoneWebP free; AVIF through the paid CDN
An image that gets no smallerNot chargedNot stated
Originals backed upYes, restore any imageYes: local free, 30-day cloud on paid plans
A record of each image, failures includedYes: a ledger you can filter and exportNot stated
AI upscaleYes, 210 credits, price shown firstNot stated

EWWW may suit you better if: You want compression to run free on your own server and are happy to manage it.

Source: EWWW’s own site and its WordPress.org listing, checked 26 October 2026.

ImgCrisp vs Optimole

QuestionImgCrispOptimole
Where compression runsImgCrisp’s serviceOptimole’s cloud and CDN
What you pay forCredits: 30 per image, all sizes and formats includedMonthly visitors to your site
WebP and AVIFBoth, for everyoneBoth, free plan included
An image that gets no smallerNot chargedNot applicable (billed by visitors)
Originals backed upYes, restore any imageOriginals are never changed; images are served from Optimole
A record of each image, failures includedYes: a ledger you can filter and exportNot stated
AI upscaleYes, 210 credits, price shown firstNot stated

Optimole may suit you better if: You want images served from a CDN and priced by visitors, not by image.

Source: Optimole’s own site and its WordPress.org listing, checked 26 October 2026.

Install it. Read the receipt. Undo it if you don’t like it.

Your first 50 images are free for 30 days. No card needed.

This page 60 KB on first load (phone, AVIF, fresh visit). How we measure